I’m not an early riser. There’s a good reason for that. You see, I just got home from work. It is 3:09 a.m. my time. This reading and writing in the wee hours of the a.m. is part of the unwinding that happens in a day in the life of me. Let me share with you a little about my unconventional household.

Once upon a time, our home was filled to capacity. Four kids were mine and it wasn’t uncommon to have one or two extras that someone else had given birth to. We’ve always had “the kid house”. And people worry that homeschoolers don’t learn how to socialize…but that’s another story.

My two oldest boys grew up to be wonderful men and moved away. My 27 year old son has a beautiful wife who gave him two beautiful kids. He has chosen a career in law enforcement and is a homeowner (which I wasn’t until age 31). My 25 year old is gorgeous and single. He currently works on an Air Force Base for a Government Contract. His passion is fighting. He practices Mixed Martial Arts, which is simply incredible. Having grown up with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, it has been a joy to see him beat the odds and grow into such a healthy, strong man. He is also about to become a homeowner (which I wasn’t until age 31).

My two offspring still living at home keep me grounded and sane. My 18 year old son (Batman) rises at 4 a.m., passes by my computer lair in his workout clothes, and heads out the door to go jogging. Don’t ask me why. He’s just weird like that. Upon returning from his still-dark-outside-jog, he might come home, grab some money, and walk to the corner store for a coffee. Don’t ask me why, he’s just weird like that. This will be his one indulgence because for the rest of the day, he will strictly maintain his “carb cycling” eating plan. Don’t ask me why, he’s just weird like that. And at some point in the day before I head out to my night shift work, he’ll ask me to sauté some broccoli and carrots. He might ring my phone to ask me to pick up vitamins before I come home from work. On one such night, my favorite co-worker asked me, “how did your kids turn out to be so healthy?” and I had to respond, “I really do not know…because I always have these hidden away somewhere in my house.”

My youngest child (Breezy) is 16-going-on-40. She is my only daughter–a very unusual child–a reward from God for having endured hyperemesis gravidarum for almost two years of my life with all of my pregnancies combined. From the day she arrived, I had a personal assistant. She is my workout partner, my co-worker, my therapist, and my prayer partner. The one thing she is not is my best friend. She chose her own best friend when she was 4 years old. It wasn’t me, it was Bethanie. I’m just lucky enough to get to hang out with them sometimes. Oh, yeah. Breezy is a work-a-holic. She always has two jobs. Sometimes she has three. She is currently awaiting orthognathic surgery.

The man in my life is perfect for me. He is silent and strong, and so very handsome. He was born to be the father of my children and the grandfather of my grandchildren. He doesn’t cook but he knows how to fix almost anything. When our grandkids spend the night on weekends, he is wonderful enough to give them baths, snuggle in the big red chair, and read bedtime stories. For all of that, he completely earns the right to get on the computer for a couple of hours each day to read about his man-crush, Brett Favre.

Me? I’ll finish this and go take a hot bath. I’ll read my library book until my eyes can no longer stay open and the book falls out of my hands. I’ll wake tomorrow (later today) around noon. I’ll then run my 18 year old son to Game Stop to pick up a new game. We’ll come home where my kids will spend the day home schooling. It will be payday, so my daughter will get the checkbook and pay all the bills. My 25 year old son will call me at some point in the day to tell me how things are going with his search for a home. Since my daughter is having a mean craving, I’ll probably fix pancakes. My 18 year old son will still ask for broccoli and carrots. Don’t ask me why, he’s just weird like that. We’ll then do “leg hell”, a workout I designed that works our lower bodies to failure. Around 8 p.m., my daughter and I will leave for work where we’ll get another workout for a paycheck doing warehouse work. And since my work there is a full-time gig, I won’t have the time to take awesome photos or do crafty things that make so many blogs look awesome.

What I will have is stories. Plenty of them. You see, in addition to my entertaining family, I work with incredible people. The contract I work for hires primarily people with physical, psychological, and learning disabilities. I have the privilege of training some of them. I am surrounded by both miracles and OCD and what an interesting ride it can be!

I’m off now for that hot bath. I didn’t mean to get so long-winded, but there you have it–A Day in the Life of Me.

 

 

 

