~From “Spinal Tap”

* Nigel Tufnel: The numbers all go to eleven. Look, right across the board, eleven, eleven, eleven and…

* Marty DiBergi: Oh, I see. And most amps go up to ten?

* Nigel Tufnel: Exactly.

* Marty DiBergi: Does that mean it’s louder? Is it any louder?

* Nigel Tufnel: Well, it’s one louder, isn’t it? It’s not ten. You see, most blokes, you know,will be playing at ten. You’re on ten here, all the way up, all the way up, all the way up, you’re on ten on your guitar. Where can you go from there? Where?

* Marty DiBergi: I don’t know.

* Nigel Tufnel: Nowhere. Exactly. What we do is, if we need that extra push over the cliff, you know what we do?

* Marty DiBergi: Put it up to eleven.

* Nigel Tufnel: Eleven. Exactly. One louder.

* Marty DiBergi: Why don’t you just make ten louder and make ten be the top number and make that a little louder?

* Nigel Tufnel: These go to eleven.

Eleven Happy Thoughts–Because These go to Eleven

 

 1. A drawing by Alex of the two of us hand-in-hand–even though it depicts me with short, curly, grandma hair when my hair is actually long and curly as in naturally-sistah-curly.

2. T.J. riding in the car seat that “Pockey and Alex built for him”–just the two of us.

     T.J.: “I very wanted to be with you today.”

     Me: “I wanted to be with you, too. Thank you for having a sleep-over with me.”

     T.J.: “No problem.”

3. K.Z. (miracle co-worker). No words. I hear his foot dragging as he makes his way down the aisle. He was in a car accident at age 5. His grandmother and uncle were killed instantly. K.Z.? He was not found at the scene. He was squashed in the engine of a car, already taken to the junkyard. When he was found, he was pronounced dead. But there is no trace of “dead” when you see the light of his smile.

4. Heath, when he breaks out into song. Any song.

5. The fresh coffee Breezy makes for me when I wake. Or the fresh Breezy I see before the coffee is even a thought.

6. Batman asking for sautéed broccoli and carrots 5 nights a week. It is so cool to have a weird kid.

7. Memories of My Man telling me “congratulations” after the Saints beat the Vikings in 2010 while in the innermost part of his being he was reeling from the can of whoop-a$$ opened on his man-crush, Brett Favre.

8. Memories of countless concerts with Tyler–the days when I held the title of Favorite Girl–but with the complete understanding that someday I would be knocked down a notch, and very possibly, knocked down several more.

9. Hearing co-worker, Lyndale, at any given time asking me to do something “right quick”.

10. Paying the balance of my library fines. The absence of guilt is awesome.

11. Memories of Superbowl XLIV in New Orleans. Who Dat!

 

 

 

 

 

