Tags

, , ,

I was 12 years old when I first became captivated. My grandmother (Othermother) was an artist who painted portraits, nudes, and landscapes. She planted beautiful gardens and made sure she placed everything just so. Sweet William always stood facing the Naked Ladies. One year, she received this book as a Christmas gift.

 

I’d sit for what seemed hours, fascinated by both the colorful artwork and the whimsical bits of trivia. As an adult, it was the first thing my eyes would search for when I stepped into her formal living room. It was always there, right on the coffee table in front of the velvet sofa that we were not allowed to put our feet on,  to the left of the Norman Rockwell book. When I’d settle onto the sofa and open the pages, I was there again. A child-like fascination would take over and this is the feeling that will always be attached to the memory of Othermother’s house.

One summer night only a few years ago, I came home to a visitor. He stood waiting with a lantern in one hand and looking every bit like he was ready for an adventure. Out of the darkness, Breezy came running up, breathless as if she’d just finished a powerful sprint. “I’ve got a story to tell you.”

“Tell me,” I insisted.

Still breathless, she took her finger and pointed to the letters on my t-shirt: POLICE.

I’ll spare you the details of the kidnapping that took place that night but I will say this:  Breezy and Bethanie can move like Ninjas and run like the wind. It was the beginning of a beautiful relationship with Phinneus. Here are some of our favorite memories.

First Kiss

Will Rogers International Airport

 

Refreshing beverage at Margaritaville Cafe.

Enjoying the artery-blocker special at Port of Call.

 Hanging on Frenchmen Street with Long Lost Brother, John Hyman.

Second Line at Satchmo Summer Fest.

Bonding with Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist, Robert Olen Butler.

Sharing the stage with John Boutte during French Quarter Festival . His song, Treme, was chosen as the theme song for the original HBO series, Treme which you can read about here.

…Other New Orleans greats,  Paul Sanchez and Leroy Jones.

Raising money for new equipment for Nola Firefighters. Firefighter calendars, anyone?

Willie Mae’s Scotch House

Spending a little time in Tennessee with these guys (and girls) from Paranormal State .  Ryan Buell, above.

Chip Coffey

The beautiful Katrina.

Costume party with Josh Clark, founder of Light of New Orleans Publishing, author of “Heart Like Water” and editor of “French Quarter Fiction: Newest Stories of America’s Oldest Bohemia and “Louisiana in Words”.

Also pictured is photojournalist Ride Hamilton.

This gorgeous creature is Lee Barclay, editor of “New Orleans: What Can’t be Lost”.

 

Hanging with Kermit Ruffins during filming of Good Morning America, Super Bowl Weekend.

Watching the Krewe of Barkus Parade with a friend.

Basking in the glow of Super Bowl XLIV Sainthood .  Who Dat!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

