Tags

, , ,

I hear a lot these days about Attachment Parenting. I think it is a wonderful concept. So wonderful, in fact, that I did this very thing. I had never heard anything about Attachment Parenting (because some of us became parents when dinosaurs walked the streets and there was no internet). I just did what felt right–and for me–it was right.

So, what does this have to do with Mixed Martial Arts?

Massage therapy.

Let’s say that your child has grown into an adult, moved out into the big, wide world, and is pursuing their own passions. Let’s say that their biggest passion is that of Mixed Martial Arts. If they are lucky enough to have a Kick-Ass Instructor (or, in fact, several of them), they are going to be physically challenged. If they are lucky enough to attend multiple classes per week (in addition to their own training regime), they should be physically wiped out by Sunday.

If you (the parent) are trained in massage therapy and happen to have a massage table at home, guess what? Attachment Parenting continues. Not only will your adult child come over to get on your massage table–but your house could potentially be infused with the fragrance of stress relief:

Eucalyptus Spearmint Massage Oil by Bath and Body Works. Good, good stuff. I was first introduced to this by my beautiful sister-in-law, Kris Lanning, a police officer who passed from this life far too young. Hers is an absence I feel deeply. She was a world-class Judo competitor. She was so excited about my massage, she made it her mission to find the best massage oil for me.  Mission accomplished. 

As my son was falling asleep on the massage table tonight, I found myself feeling a sense of awe and it wasn’t just the aromatherapy.  I found myself thinking about his journey.  You see, he was diagnosed at the age of two with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. As a single mother, my options were limited. I knew that I didn’t want to see him in a wheelchair like so many of the kids we saw on our visits to the rheumatologist. The prescribed medication made him sick so I discontinued the use. Instead, we simply did physical therapy at home and on those days when pain got the best of him, he asked for Tylenol.

At age 25, he is pouring his heart into training for a competition where they do things like this:

 I’ll let you know how it goes. For anyone else interested in learning from the best, check out Lovato’s School of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.  For an extra dose of  inspiration, here’s Rafael Lovato Jr.’s blog.

Facebook pages can be found here: 

Lovato’s Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Rafael Lovato Jr.

