Tags

, , ,

You know that game shrinks play when they show their patients pictures of objects and ask them to say the first word that comes to mind?  My son played that game with me on April 19th.  Only he didn’t show me a photo…he mentioned your name.

Kind.  Very kind.  The answer came quick and easy.  But your name doesn’t bring to mind one word.  One word isn’t enough.

Pure-hearted.  Sincerely good.  Everyday.

That is what I remember most about you.

It seems after all these years, you’ve left the same impression on my son.  While your paths crossed,  I never knew.  Professionally for the both of you.  And that time you pulled him over not so long ago while he was driving that old blue geo metro that looked as though it would fall apart right then and there.

Thank you for all you do…for being discerning.  In a world filled with muddied agendas, I appreciate that quality in humans more than words can say.  Especially in your line of work.

May God surround you with His favor like a shield.  I pray that you will be enveloped by His love and comfort and peace.  Each morning when you rise to new mercies, I pray you remember that your counselor and defender neither slumbers nor sleeps.

In righteousness you will be established: Tyranny will be far from you; you will have nothing to fear.  Terror will be far removed; it will not come near you.

If anyone does attack you, it will not be my doing; whoever attacks you will surrender to you.

See, it is I who created the blacksmith who fans the coals into flame and forges a weapon fit for its work.  And it is I who created the destroyer to wreak havoc;

No weapon forged against you will prevail, and you will refute every tongue that accuses you. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and this is their vindication from me,” declares the Lord.

~Isaiah 54: 14-17

